The Twin Paradox

Miss Hello World
5 min readSep 27, 2023
Time travel
Time travel - Image Credit: Photo by Harry Cunningham on Unsplash

Velocity is relative, the speed of light is constant, moving clocks tick off time slower, and time travel is possible. I explained this in my previous article through a story. Because that’s how I see it. As a once upon a time story.

Because I don’t really understand it.

Maybe you can help me.

I’ll first explain briefly the facts that are clear and then explain the paradox that doesn’t make sense (to me).

Facts I do get:

  1. The relationship between time, distance and speed:

2. Speed of light in vacuum (c) is constant. Light always travels at approx. 300,000,000 m/s (measured, tested, we accept this as true).

3. Velocity is not absolute — it’s dependent on the observer’s state of motion. So, a car moving at 60km has a different relative velocity when observed from a stationary point than from a car moving at 40km in the same direction (agreed, we experience this every day).

4. Time can elapse at different rates for two observers moving relative to each other. For someone traveling at a speed close to the speed of light, time would seem to pass normally. But, to a stationary observer, time for the fast-moving individual would appear to slow down, making their clocks tick slower compared to the observer’s.

--

--

Miss Hello World

I want to understand – the universe, the world, me. What’s it all about? What is my purpose? As Socrates said, “the unexamined life is not worth living".